Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Zara Mcfarlane - Songs Of An Unknown Tongue

Zara Mcfarlane

Songs Of An Unknown Tongue

Release date: August 14, 2020
Label: Brownswood
Syle: Jazz
Brownswood are excited to share this boundary-pushing new music from Zara McFarlane, entitled 'Songs of an Unknown Tongue - a fresh departure in her creative direction, uniting her with experimental producers Kwake Bass and Wu-Lu. 'Songs of an Unknown Tongue' is inspired by an exploration of Zara's Jamaican heritage, which included an extended trip in 2018, meeting academics, and researching the early folk rhythms unique to the island. Her new sound is the culmination of this research and a reflection on how the history of Zara's ancestors affects her story today. Created at Kwake & Wu-Lu's South London studio, 'The Room' - home to a vibrant community where creative energy pulses through the bricks and mortar. These new sonic explorations signal an exciting direction of travel for this innovative founding member of the UK's vibrant homegrown jazz scene.
  • 1. Everything Is Connected
  • 2. Black Treasure
  • 3. My Story
  • 4. Broken Water
  • 5. Saltwater
  • 6. Run of Your Life
  • 7. State of Mind
  • 8. Native Nomad
  • 9. Roots of Freedom
  • 10. Future Echoes
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

14 August 2020 / More records