Release date:
June 28, 2024
Buy vinyl:

In 1979, two school-kids all hopped-up on punk-rock started their own group in their hometown of Hawthorne, Los Angeles (birthplace of the Beach Boys) and soon found themselves opening shows for notorious scene pioneers Black Flag. Jeff McDonald was fifteen, his brother Steven McDonald only eleven. But that didn't stop their group from becoming one of the most remarkable, enduring and unique outfits punk-rock ever belched up. 2024, then, marks Redd Kross's forty-fifth birthday-an important anniversary for any group whose heart pulses at 45RPM-and the brothers are celebrating the event with a veritable multimedia extravaganza. There's a memoir, Now You're One Of Us, due in November, author Dan Epstein telling the group's story in the McDonalds' unmistakable (and occasionally contrary) voices. A brilliant rockumentary, Born Innocent, directed by Andrew Reich, will premiere later in the year. Most exciting of all, this new album-an eponymous double-album, no less, packed with eighteen of their sharpest, most addictive songs yet. These years of joyful service to rock'n'roll have seen Redd Kross evolve into a killer pop-rock concern, dealing in dayglo power-chords, choruses as tall as skyscrapers and a lyric sheet thick with acid couplets and arch pop-cultural references their loyal following will gobble up like quaaludes.

  • 1. Candy Coloured Catastrophe
  • 2. Stunt Queen
  • 3. the Main Attraction
  • 4. Cancion Enojada
  • 5. Good Times Propaganda Band
  • 6. What's in It for You?
  • 7. I'll Take Your Word for It
  • 8. Terrible Band
  • 9. Stuff
  • 10. Back of the Cave
  • 11. Too Good to Be True
  • 12. Way Too Happy
  • 13. Simple Magic
  • 14. the Witches' Stand
  • 15. Lay Down and Die
  • 16. the Shaman's Disappearing Robe
  • 17. Emanuelle Insane
  • 18. Born Innocent

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play