Paketo Wilson Praise Him

Release date:
April 21, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Praise HimIn September 1982, together with Trevor Davis, Paketo recorded and produced Praise Him, under the Child of God label. Recorded in just one day at Harry J Studio, the album mixes together roots reggae with a splash of lovers rock, singing of peace, love and unity, of enjoyment and upliftment, but also of the tribulations of ghetto life, of losing bredrins and friends. The mystical horns of Bobby Ellis and Headley Bennett carry us to a higher dimension, that same dimension from which Paketo wrote the lyrics to his spiritual poems, while the deep and overwhelming bass keeps us rooted to the ground.Paketo WilsonBorn on October 24th 1956 in Kingston, Jamaica, Paketo Wilson grew up right in the heart of it all. His father, one of the best sign artists of the island, introduced him to the top musicians of the time, opening the doors to the world of music. His mother, on the other hand, wanted him to learn a trade. She sent him to learn dentistry close to home, unaware that every day Paketo would sneak in a bands room just a couple of steps from the dentist shop instead.With no music teacher other than his own two eyes, Paketo would sit and watch. He soon came to understand each and every finger position, and the day he held his first guitar, fire came out of his fingertips. In 1972, at the age of 16, Paketo began his musical career with the New Vibration Band, playing in concerts all around the island, and quickly established himself as a solo artist through Daddy U-Roy's King Stur Gav Sound System.Following the release of Praise Him, Paketo travelled to Canada and performed at the Toronto Concert Hall, together with Leroy Sibbles, Errol Dunkley, Phyllis Dillon and Chester Miller. Soon enough his stage became international and in 1987 Paketo toured the world, playing in Germany, England, France, the Netherlands, Belgium and Austria. Paketo defines himself as a positive rastaman and never stops writing, playing, singing, but most of all smiling.

  • 1. One Love Foundation
  • 2. Lonely World
  • 3. Praise Him
  • 4. Jardan Dance
  • 5. My Daily Bread
  • 6. Gracie
  • 7. Jump for Joy
  • 8. Come Shake with Me

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play