Release date:
August 4, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Oiro Pena is a Finnish jazz collective helmed by prolific composer Antti Vauhkonen. Their forthcoming album, Puna, recorded in bedrooms, studios and other salubrious locations around Helsinki during 2022, is a mix of lo-fi spiritual jazz, experimental, and avant-garde music forms. It includes four vocal tracks recorded with Merikukka Kiviharju, which feature both original lyrics and those sourced from traditional Finnish folk songs. Vauhkonen first attracted attention as saxophonist in the group Soft Power. He then launched Oiro Pena as solo multi-instrumentalist with two self-titled, astral, outsider jazz 10” EPs, released by Ultraääni in 2019, limited to 200 copies, since repressed three times and seriously in demand. 1. Puna (8:16) 2. Joona's Abs (5:56) 3. Kaiju Kaiju (4:49) 4. Mythical Mist (3:59) 5. Joo Tai (4:16) 6. Kuinka Kukaan (6:23) 7. Calamity Caravan (3:48)

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play