Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Nubya Garcia - Source

Nubya Garcia

Source (2xLP)

Release date: August 21, 2020
Label: Concord Jazz
Format: Double Vinyl
Multi-award winning saxophonist and composer Nubya Garcia presents SOURCE, her first release on the iconic Concord Jazz imprint. The album is produced by Garcia in collaboration with the celebrated producer Kwes (Nerija, Bobby Womack, Solange). Garcia returns with Joe Armon-Jones (keys), Daniel Casimir (bass) and Sam Jones (drums). A collection of sonic mantras to live by, SOURCE is a deeply personal offering in which Garcia maps cartographies around the coordinate points of her identity, her family histories, grief, afro-diasporic connections and collectivism. SOURCE is fundamentally about getting grounded within yourself, so that you can be present with others. It's about a realization of personal and collective power: the evolution of the saxophonist’s values as she re-connects with herself, her roots and her community. Garcia digs deep to present an album with a global outlook: from London to Bogota, Caura to Georgetown, it's a record drawing inspiration from the many places Garcia calls home.
  • 1. Pace (7:52)
  • 2. The Message Continues (6:43)
  • 3. Source featuring KOKOROKO (12:07)
  • 4. Together Is a Beautiful Place To Be (7:36)
  • 5. Stand With Each Other featuring KOKOROKO (3:37)
  • 6. Inner Game (7:44)
  • 7. La Cumbia Me Está Llamando featuring La Perla (4:15)
  • 8. Before Us: In Demerara & Caura featuring Ms MAURICE (8:01)
  • 9. Boundless Beings featuring Akenya (2:46)
Pre-order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

21 August 2020 / More records