Release date:
February 16, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Consider this your invitation to Café Molly, a lounge bar likethey don't make them anymore. The lights are low, the martinis are ice cold,the banquettes are velvet, and the stage is set for the electrifying talent ofwhistler Molly Lewis. After the exotica stylings of The Forgotten Edge EP andthe tropicalia-indebted Mirage EP, Molly wanted to encapsulate the sound ofCafé Molly for her debut album On The Lips, a dreamy tribute to classic moodmusic, it conjures up misty visions of classic Hollywood jazz clubs, Italiancinema soundtracks and lingering embraces between lovers. Recorded withproducer Thomas Brenneck of the Menahan Street Band at his newly-builtDiamond West Studios in Pasadena, and with something of an open doorpolicy during the sessions, a stream of acclaimed musicians ended up acrossthe album's 10 tracks, including Nick Hakim, Latin Grammy-nominatedBrazilian guitarist Rogê, Leland Whitty and Chester Hansen of Canadianinstrumental group Badbadnotgood, Chicano soul group Thee Sacred Soulsappear on the melancholy 'Crushed Velvet', experimental jazz pianist MarcoBenevento and El Michels Affair's Leon Michels. With her intoxicatingcompositions, and wry brand of stagecraft (she might not be singing up there,but she can sure tell a joke) Molly Lewis looks set to join her heroes in thestoried lore of the Los Angeles lounge scene and beyond. So pull up a chair,order your favorite drink, and prepare to fall for On The Lips.

  • 1. On the Lips
  • 2. Lounge Lizard
  • 3. Crushed Velvet
  • 4. Slinky
  • 5. Moon Tan
  • 6. Silhouette
  • 7. Porque Te Vas
  • 8. Cocosette
  • 9. Sonny
  • 10. The Crying Game

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play