Release date:
November 24, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Riverside Mastermind Mariusz Duda Returns With Fourth Solo Album 'Afr Ai D' On Limited Magenta Vinyl. Despite being an accomplished multi-instrumentalist, Mariusz Duda has always been fascinated by the telling of a story, idea or concept. Whereas on previous album 'Lockdown Trilogy', Mariusz Duda wanted to capture a snapshot of life during the pandemic the renown progressive mastermind, this time explores the concept of AI as disruptor. The new solo record looks at the growing commodification of AI & specifically with artificial intelligence entering the mainstream. Using the notion of ChatGPT & Midjourney & the increasing use of deep fakes as a springboard, 'AFR AI D' explores these interesting & forward-thinking theories musically just as much as it does conceptually. The album opens with the ominous sounds of the aptly titled 'Taming Nightmares' acting as a musical signpost to this new dawn of machine learning. It's followed by Interstellar nod of 'Fake Me Deep, Murf' & later by the TRON like 'Mid Jorney To Freedom'. Off the back of 'Bots' Party' we move into the emotive arpeggios of 'I Love To Chat With You' that whisks you straight into the mind of Theodore Twombly falling for an operating system. The album later ends on the cold & unfeeling introspection of 'Embracing The Unknown'. In a world where truth is often camouflaged by deception the electronic heartbeat of 'AFR AI D' can never lie. Or can it? German artist & illustrator Hajo Müller (Steven Wilson) appears once again carrying on the legacy of Mariusz Duda's artwork as the two have collaborated throughout Mariusz's solo album career. Mariusz also performs all instruments throughout the album except for guitar solos. 'AFR AI D' was recorded throughout May & June 2023 at Serakos Studio in Warszawa, with engineering by Magda & Robert Srzedniccy & mastered by Robert Szydlo. This edition of the album is presented on Limited Magenta vinyl in a single sleeve.

  • 1. Taming Nightmares (07:20)
  • 2. Good Morning Fearmongering (05:14)
  • 3. Fake Me Deep, Murf (04:48)
  • 4. Bots' Party (05:00)
  • 5. I Love to Chat with You (03:43)
  • 6. Why So Serious, Cassandra? (04:56)
  • 7. Mid Jorney to Freedom (03:08)
  • 8. Embracing the Unknown (08:00

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play