Mario Castro & Samba S.a Mario Castro & Samba S.a

Release date:
October 13, 2023
Buy vinyl:

The Brazilian composer, pianist and producer, Mário Castro Neves and his group, Samba S. A.'s self-titled album from 1967 is oozing with class. It possesses that archetypal 60's bossa nova, jazz, samba sound. We'd place it up there with Sergio Mendes at his finest, Tambo Trio or Milton Banana. It's a breezy ride that touches on easy listening at times, but it holds it together with a cool swagger.The album has long been a favourite with DJs and collectors over the years, with songs selected for compilations by Gilles Peterson and Nicola Conte. One of the centrepieces of the album, 'Candomblé', has been sampled by Cut Chemist on his track 'Povo de Santo'. The song 'Naña' is punchy and light with dancefloor-jazz appeal. The gloriously catchy 'Vem Balançar' is a brilliant bossa shuffler. A superb listen throughout, the album sticks to a framework but delivers in spades.

  • 1. Candomblé
  • 2. Yearning Lovers
  • 3. Nanã
  • 4. De Brincadeira
  • 5. Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 6. E Nada Mais
  • 7. Keep Talking
  • 8. Vem Balançar
  • 9. Once More
  • 10. Morte de Um Deus de Sal
  • 11. TÁ Por Fora
  • 12. Corcovado

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play