Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Lingua Ignota - Caligula

Lingua Ignota


Release date: July 19, 2019
Label: Profound Lore
Format: Double Vinyl
Double vinyl LP pressing. Caligula, the 2019 album from Lingua Ignota, takes the vision of Kristin Hayter's vessel to a new level of grandeur, her purging and vengeful audial vision going beyond anything preceding it and reaching a new unparalleled sonic plane within her oeuvre. Succeeding her self-released 2017 All Bitches Die opus, this new one sees Hayter design her most ambitious work to date, displaying the full force of her talent as a vocalist, composer, and storyteller. Vast in scope and multivalent in it's influences, with delivery nothing short of demonic, this is an outsider's opera; magnificent, hideous, and raw. Eschewing and disavowing genre altogether, Hayter builds her own world. Here she fully embodies the moniker Lingua Ignota, from the German mystic Hildegard of Bingen, meaning "unknown language" -this music has no home, any precedent or comparison could only be uneasily given, and there is nothing else like it in the contemporary realm. Working closely with Seth Manchester at Machines With Magnets studio, Hayter strips away much of the industrial and electronic elements of her previous work, approaching instead the corporeal intensity and intimate menace of her notorious live performances, achieved with unconventional recording techniques and sound sources, as well as a full arsenal of live instrumentation and collaborators including harsh noise master Sam McKinlay (The Rita), visceral drummer Lee Buford (The Body) and frenetic percussionist Ted Byrnes (Cackle Car, Wood & Metal), with guest vocals from Dylan Walker (Full of Hell), Mike Berdan (Uniform), and Noraa Kaplan (Visibilities). Caligula is a massive work, a multi-layered epic that gives voice and space to that which has been silenced and cut out.
  • 1. Faithful Servant Friend of Christ
  • 2. Do You Doubt Me Traitor
  • 3. Butcher of the World
  • 4. May Failure Be Your Noose
  • 5. Fragrant Is My Many Flower'd Crown
  • 6. If the Poison Won't Take You My Dogs Will
  • 7. Day of Tears and Mourning
  • 8. Sorrow! Sorrow! Sorrow!
  • 9. Spite Alone Holds Me Aloft
  • 10. Fucking Deathdealer
  • 11. I Am the Beast
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

19 July 2019 / More records