Subscribe to our newsletter

Kutiman Open

Release date:
November 11, 2022
Buy vinyl:

Open is the sixth studio album from acclaimed composer, producer, filmmaker and multi-instrumentalist, Kutiman. It is an addictive & irresistible twelve-track trip taking in elements of classic soul, Middle Eastern psychedelia, Afrobeat, Thai funk, jazz fusion, cosmic library soundscapes and more. The uptempo "Vanishing Point" opens proceedings, recalling both Abstract Orchestra's 2017 Dilla tribute and the lounge OST/library music flips of Tosca and DJ Vadim fame. My Everything introduces prominent guest & frequent Kutiman collaborator, Dekel, whose soul-pop vocals coupled with jangly acoustic guitar riffs tip to contemporary indie artists such as Michael Kiwanuka and SAULT. "A Day Off passes through" Anatolian psych and Khruangbin-esque Thai funk whilst the afrobeat/jazz fusion "Confetti" pays tribute to Kutiman's other namesake, Fela Kuti. Dekel rejoins for the beatdown, lilting dub-soul "Believe In You" with hints of Lord Echo and the sun-inflected New Zealand dub-soul sound. The Tuareg-leaning guitar lines on "Canoe" travel across the Saharan desert easterly towards Sudan and Ethiopia by the end, whilst meditative and Coltrane-adjacent album closer "Ripples" provides a final moment of reflection from a truly global excursion of soundscapes.

  • 1. Vanishing Point
  • 2. My Everything (FT. Dekel)
  • 3. Canoe
  • 4. Always Be Alone (FT. Dekel)
  • 5. Fresh Haze
  • 6. Need to Forget (FT. Dekel)
  • 7. A Day Off
  • 8. Love You Tomorrow (FT. Dekel)
  • 9. Confetti
  • 10. Believe in You (FT. Dekel)
  • 11. High & Dry
  • 12. Ripples

Install the Android App for and get notified when new upcoming vinyl is added

Get it on Google Play