Release date:
May 31, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Joe Gideon first came to wider attention 20 years ago with his band Bikini Atoll. But back in March 2020, the singer/songwriter was mid-tour promoting his new album Armagideon when the pandemic brought his tour, along with the entire world, to a screeching halt. Like it's predecessor, his upcoming album, Altered Self, is produced by Jim Sclavunos. Gideon's unique song-writing style and surreal poetic musings are very much in the fore; and although he and Jim are the sole instrumentalists, the album offers a menagerie of sounds including loopy synths, skronky guitars, sonorous bass, and lashings of bongo madness. Expect to hear Joe yowling and howling at the moon, screeching like a bird, as well as summoning listeners to join his 'disco church' congregation. And for all you entomologists, Joe promises at least two songs about insects.

  • 1. Archaeopsychic
  • 2. Bird of Prey
  • 3. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 1
  • 4. The Deforming Mirrors, Part 2
  • 5. Life Cycle of the Atlas Moth
  • 6. Arctic Moon
  • 7. Grizzly
  • 8. Spiders in Dreams
  • 9. Wild & Free

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play