Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Ikebe Shakedown - Kings Left Behind

Ikebe Shakedown

Kings Left Behind

Release date: August 16, 2019
Ten years ago, Ikebe Shakedown began pushing the boundaries of instrumental music. Each new track and live set has sent them deeper into combining the primal elements of '70s soul, raw psychedelic style, and cinematic Western soundtracks with powerful grooves and soaring melodies. Now, with their new release, Kings Left Behind (Colemine Records), the band is giving listeners more mystery and majesty than ever before. The album features the entire group collaborating to produce tracks that deliver punches right to the gut, even as dreamy guitars and lush horn melodies and string arrangements capture the imagination. The album was recorded by Ikebe's bassist, Vince Chiarito, at Hive Mind Recording. Opened with Ikebe's saxophonist, Mike Buckley, and another collaborator in 2017, Hive Mind has become a home base for the band, leading to more experimentation with the textures and sounds of a genre they define as Instrumental Soul.
  • 1. Not Another Drop
  • 2. Unqualified
  • 3. The Witness
  • 4. Mary's Corner
  • 5. Horses
  • 6. Hammer Into Anvil
  • 7. Over My Head
  • 8. No Going Back
  • 9. Kings Left Behind
  • 10. Not Another Drop (Reprise)
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

16 August 2019 / More records