Search Upcoming Vinyl Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Henning Christiansen - Peter Der Grosse

Henning Christiansen

Peter Der Grosse (2xLP)

Release date: September 23, 2022
2020 release. Two of Henning Christiansen's tape works from the 1980s, Peter der Große op. 174 (1986) and Gudbrandsdal op. 178 (1987), are now released for the first time by the Institute for Danish Sound Archaeology. Originally composed for different contexts - "Peter der Große" as the score for a German radio feature and "Gudbrandsdal" for a performance in collaboration with Joseph Beuys and later Bjørn Nørgaard - the two works stand out in Christansen's extensive and many-faceted oeuvre by employing almost entirely electronic sounds. "Peter der Große" involves electronic instruments like synthesizer and a crackle box, while "Gudbrandsdal" employs a more minimal approach and aesthetics through the heavy use of echo effects and manipulation of the tape speed. Both of the tape works carry a heavy atmospheric tone and are set in a largely electronic sound world. Two absolutely enthralling and immersive pieces of tape music, now available for the first time.
  • 1. Peter Der Große 1. Umwälzung
  • 2. Peter Der Große 2. Das Höfische Russland
  • 3. Peter Der Große 3. Narrenmusik
  • 4. Peter Der Große 4. Grausamkeit Und Schrecken
  • 5. Peter Der Große 5. Das Alte Russland
  • 6. Peter Der Große 6. Kriegszug - Vorrücken
  • 7. Gudbrandsdal 1. Der Wind Zieht Durch Das Tal
  • 8. Gudbrandsdal 2. Der Tod Ist Hinter Mir
  • 9. Gudbrandsdal 3. Tanz Der Toten ÜBer Die GräBern
  • 10. Gudbrandsdal 4. Tiefland Unter Der Erde
  • 11. Gudbrandsdal 5. Die GetöTete Brant
  • 12. Gudbrandsdal 6. Der Ewige Totentanz
  • 13. Gudbrandsdal 7. Heimkehr Zum Elend
  • 14. Gudbrandsdal 8. Die SchöNe Vergangenheit Der Seltsamen Frau
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

More upcoming records