Release date:
November 10, 2023
Buy vinyl:

FOGHAT continues to appeal to fans of all ages because their music is timeless. They are still touring relentlessly and playing with an energy that perpetuates youthful exuberance, no matter how old they may be. On SONIC MOJO, founding member, drummer Roger Earl is joined by guitarist, engineer and co-producer Bryan Bassett (Wild Cherry, Molly Hatchet), bassist Rodney O' Quinn (Pat Travers Band), and on lead vocals and guitar, Scott Holt (Buddy Guy). Three songs on SONIC MOJO have special meaning for Roger Earl, as they were co-written by Kim Simmonds, the man who gave Roger his first break back in 1967 as a member of Savoy Brown. Sadly, shortly after writing these songs, Kim passed away. According to Roger Earl: "I love playing and working with this band. During my almost 60 year music career I have had the honor of playing with some really great musicians...Many have passed, some have retired or moved on, but I have to say that the current lineup is one of the most inspirational for me personally!" We had a terrific time making this record. 6 original tracks and 6 of some of our favorite songs by other artists. It is interesting to note that our first album in 1972, had a song by Willie Dixon "I Just Want to Make Love to You" and a Chuck Berry song "Maybellene", and so does this record! One from each of these great writers! So, apparently our musical tastes haven't changed much! My brother Colin Earl (Mungo Jerry) wrote a song for us about one of his musical heroes, Hank Williams. We had some fun with that one too! Foghat does country?? Then we wrote a few more, picked our favorite tunes by other artists and there you go. Twelve tracks of Sonic Mojo"

  • 1. She's a LIttle Bit of Everything (Simmonds/R. Earl/Bassett/Holt/O'Quinn)
  • 2. I Don't Appreciate You (R. Earl/Holt/Bassett/O'Quinn)
  • 3. Mean Woman Blues (Claude DeMetrius)
  • 4. Drivin' On (Simmonds/R. Earl/Bassett/Holt/O'Quinn)
  • 5. Let Me Love You Baby (Willie Dixon)
  • 6. How Many More Years (Chester Burnett)
  • 7. Song For the Life (Rodney J. Crowell)
  • 8. Wish I'd a Been There (C. Earl/R. Earl/Bassett/Holt/O'Quinn)
  • 9. Time Slips Away (Simmonds/R. Earl/Bassett/Holt/O'Quinn)
  • 10. Black Days & Blue Nights (R. Earl/Holt/Bassett/O'Quinn)
  • 11. Promised Land (Chuck Berry)

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play