Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
David Porter -Victim Of Joke? An Opera

David Porter

Victim Of Joke? An Opera

Release date: December 06, 2019
The 1971 concept album, Victim of the Joke?...An Opera is the third solo LP from the acclaimed producer, songwriter, and singer David Porter. Listed as one of the "100 Greatest Songwriters of All Time" by Rolling Stone, Porter established his career at Stax, working alongside writing partner Isaac Hayes. This ambitious LP stands as a testament to Porter’s endless creative spirit. Victim of the Joke pairs original pop-infused soul music and covers (including an infectious rendition of the Beatles' "Help!") with interludes of dialogue to tell the story of a love affair. Porter’s searing rendition of the standard “(I’m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over” has been sampled in over 35 songs by artists like The Notorious B.I.G., the Wu-Tang Clan and Mary J. Blige. This is the first-time Victim of the Joke? Is reissued on vinyl. • ALL-ANALOG mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl • 180-gram vinyl pressed at Memphis Record Pressing
  • 1.If I Give It Up, I Want It Back
  • 2.When You Have To Sneak
  • 3.Help
  • 4.(I?m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over
  • 5.Storm In The Summertime
  • 6.Pretty Inside
  • 7.Human
  • 8.Airplane Ticket, Bus Ride, Can I Borrow Your Car?
  • 9.Piece Of My Heart
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

06 December 2019 / More records