Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Cornell Campbell - I Man A The Stal-A-Watt

Cornell Campbell

I Man A The Stal-A-Watt

Release date: August 23, 2019
Label: Vp Records
Format: LP Album
Cornell Campbell’s I Man A The Stall-A-Watt collects 13 tracks on one vinyl LP, highlighting the singer’s prominence in the golden era of reggae from the early 70s to early 80s. The title is a boast from the early soundclash era when many of Campbell’s tracks, here produced primarily by Bunny Lee, would play first on King Tubby’s Home Town Hi-Fi in Jamaica. The songs run the range from clash-ready standards like “Mash You Down” and “The Gorgon” to cultural commentaries like “Jah Jah Me Horn Yah” and “Bandulu” to a lover’s masterpiece, “The Investigator,” which leads off the set. Stretching into the early 80s, the collection includes two originals that would spawn countless reinterpretations, “Rope In” and “Boxing Around.”
  • 1. The Investigator
  • 2. Jah Jah Me Horn Yah
  • 3. The Gorgon
  • 4. The Stal-A-Watt
  • 5. Mash You Down
  • 6. No Man's Land
  • 7. Rasta Come From Jail
  • 8. Two Face Rasta
  • 9. Hypocrite
  • 10. Boxing Around
  • 11. Two Timer
  • 12. Bandulu
  • 13. Rope In
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

23 August 2019 / More records