Search Upcoming Vinyl Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Cedar Walton - This Is For You, John

Cedar Walton

This Is For You, John

Release date: December 16, 2022
This Is For You, John is an album by saxophonist/composer Benny Golson, recorded at Vanguard Studio, New York City in 1983 and released the year after. For the recordings, Golson was accompanied by Pharoah Sanders on tenor sax, Cedar Walton on piano, Ron Carter on bass and Jack DeJohnette on drums. The album features tunes associated with, or inspired by the famous American Jazz saxophonist John Coltrane, including 'Times Past (This Is For You, John)'. 'Origin' is an original, composed by Pharoah Sanders. This Is For You, John is available as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on green colored vinyl. The back of the sleeve contains extensive liner notes by Benny Golson, reflecting meetings with John Coltrane and the inspirations behind the songs.
  • 1. Side A
  • 2. 1. Jam the Avenue
  • 3. 2. Greensleeves
  • 4. 3. Origin
  • 5. 4. a Change of Heart
  • 6. Side B
  • 7. 1. Times Past (This Is for You, John)
  • 8. 2. Page 12
  • 9. 3. Vilia
Pre-order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

More upcoming records