Anthony D'amato At First There Was Nothing

Release date:
December 23, 2022
Buy vinyl:

After more than a decade in New York City, Anthony D'Amato headed west for his new album, At First There Was Nothing, relocating to American Fork, Utah, for recording sessions in the autumn and winter with acclaimed songwriter and producer Joshua James. Bristling with joyful energy and piercing insight, the collection marks D'Amato's first full-length release in six years, and the growth is palpable, with sprawling, unpredictable arrangements accompanying some of his most gripping and incisive lyrical work yet. Drawing on everything from hazy '60s soul to rootsy '70s rock and roll, the songs are loose and playful here, even as they grapple with faith and trust, mortality and loss, resilience and regret, all set against sweeping sonic backdrops every bit as epic and rugged as the landscapes that inspired them.

  • 1. Long Haul
  • 2. Ships in the Night
  • 3. Kinda Strange
  • 4. Enough
  • 5. Broke Tooth Smile
  • 6. Everything Does
  • 7. The Oyster and the Pearl
  • 8. Breaking Slow
  • 9. Trying to Change
  • 10. But I Go

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play