Willie Henderson Funky Chicken

Release date:
October 6, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Funky Chicken is the 1970 album from Willie Henderson and the Soul Explosions. As evident by the name, it is infinitely danceable from the moment you press play. The band's potent blend of soul and bayou funk makes for a very exuberant sounding record, where the grooves are endless. The record was initially released on the legendary Brunswick Records, famous for signing such artists as Jackie Wilson and The Chi-Lites. The reissue features two bonus tracks, "Break Your Back" and "Loose Booty", the latter of which was famously sampled by Beastie Boys in their 1992 track "Professor Booty."

  • 1. Soulful Football
  • 2. Oo Wee Baby, I Love You
  • 3. Can I Change My Mind
  • 4. Funky Chicken - Part 1
  • 5. Break Your Back
  • 6. Sugar Sugar
  • 7. Off Into a Black Thing
  • 8. Is It Something You've Got
  • 9. Funky Chicken - Part 2
  • 10. Loose Booty

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play