William Doyle Springs Eternal (Eternal Blue)

Release date:
March 1, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Serving up art-pop for the anthropocene, Springs Eternal is the Mercury-nominated artist William Doyle’s most ambitious and most playful creation to date. Taking a panoramic view of the ecstasies and agonies of life in the 2020s, the record asks how we exist as fragile flesh and blood – our hearts beating and our minds racing – in an unprecedented, almost unimaginable time of runaway climate destruction and technological expansion. Springs Eternal presents a strange and thrilling cast of characters – from cowboys to castaways – who just might be Doyle, once or twice removed. “Most of the songs are in the first-person, but rather than being autobiographical, I was trying to imagine hyperreality versions of myself,” Doyle says. “What if decisions I made in my life had resulted in the self of each particular song? How many degrees of separation am I from those realities? It’s a frightening thought, and frightening thoughts often make for good songs.” We hear from narrators teetering on the precipice of global disaster, heartbreak, addiction, indoctrination and mental illness, until they pass into the great unknown. The lyrics, by turns earnest and ironic, upfront and allegorical, are paired with infectious melodies and often outright swagger. Co-produced by indie superproducer Mike Lindsay (Tunng, LUMP), we hear the siren song of the sea washing around pulsating electronics and stirring instrumentation, featuring contributions from musicians Alexander Painter, Genevieve Dawson and Brian Eno. Doyle’s sonic odyssey that began with his incarnation as East India Youth and developed under his own name. Doyle also recently produced Anna B Savage’s album A Common Turn and plays in Orlando Weeks’ band. “Springs Eternal” follows 2021’s Great Spans of Muddy Time album (10/10 Loud & Quiet, 9/10 Line of Best Fit, 4/5 Mojo, 8/10 Uncut, 5th The Quietus 100 Albums of the Year. 1. Garden of the Morning 2. Now in Motion 3. Relentless Melt 4. Soft to the Touch 5. Eternal Spring 6. Cannot Unsee 7. Castawayed 8. Surrender Yourself 9. A Short Illness 10. A Long Life 11. Because of a Dream

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play