Release date:
May 12, 2023
Buy vinyl:

The duo of Toronto-based Brent Randall and Los Angeles-dwelling Johnny Toomey are known for their previous achievements with Los Angeles based, baroque-pop group, The Electric Looking Glass. Both musicians compliment each other stylistically and add sparks to their newest project, Vanity Mirror. Their debut LP, PUFF was written, recorded, performed, produced and even mixed by Brent Randall. The resulting album starts where their other project Electric Looking Glass leaves off, with hummable, dreamy pop that branches out into more intimate, less genre specific freeform songcraft. It is a nostalgic collection of songs pieced together in makeshift spaces while traveling between LA, Montreal, Detroit and Toronto. Taping old pianos in public libraries and abandoned houses and tracking vocals in vintage shop basements, Randall sent the tracks to Toomey who recorded drums and percussion in his Los Angeles basement using a handheld field recorder. Listeners will call to mind artists like Emitt Rhodes, Olivia Tremor Control, and Belle and Sebastian. Vanity Mirror’s PUFF will see a digital/vinyl release on May 12th, 2023 via We Are Busy Bodies. 1. (I First Saw You There on) Tinpot Lane 2. Tuesday's News 3. Girl Feeding A Swan 4. Dandelion Wish 5. How I Learned Something Worth Knowing 6. A Fool With An Applecart 7. Somehow You Know 8. Look At The Clouds 9. Talkin Walkie-Talkie Rice Crispies Blues 10. Happily Ever After

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play