Release date:
December 16, 2022
Buy vinyl:

Top 4 features four songs from four forthcoming LP's on the Cold Busted label. To start the series off we have beats from label favorites Sim Nagai, Mister T., and Emapea plus two artists who were recently signed to the label: Goodge and MichRyc. Sim's latest album, Equator Hotline, features exotica-fueled beatscapes and transportive vibes. The equator itself is breached on "Deep in the Rainforest" as busy percussion playfully accompanies the downtempo drum beat. Goodge's jazz-funk dreamscape is sonically interpreted through the grooves in tracks like "Heart of the City" from the forthcoming album Echoes of Yesteryear. Here, cool electric piano keys, a snazzy saxophone, and scratchy guitar are buoyed by an uptempo drum track that transmits a cool inner city feel. MichRyc's friend Emapea helps out with "Monkeys in the Jungle," from Under the Surface, a deep instrumental hip hop cut that almost sounds influenced by Saharan guitar bands like Mdou Moctar. Mister T. returns to Cold Busted with Synchronized Roots, another fantastic album encompassing the many styles of the prolific producer. "Looking Above" continues on a dubby tip, delivering a more heady and smoked-out feel. Each record is limited and pressed at 45 RPM with two tracks on each side for maximum fidelity.

  • 1. Sim Nagai - Deep in the Rainforest
  • 2. Goodge - Heart of the City
  • 3. Michryc & Emapea - Monkeys in the Jungle
  • 4. Mister T. - Looking Above

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play