The Average White Band AWB (50th Annniversary; Half-Speed Master)

Release date:
February 2, 2024
Pre-order vinyl:

Widely and rightly regarded as one of the best ever soul and funk bands, the now legendary Average White Band tore-up the rule book and conquered the US, UK & International charts with a series of soul and disco hits between 1974 and 1980. • AWB's repertoire has been a source of inspiration and influence for many R&B acts and they are one of the most sampled bands in history, remaining relevant today, continuing to reach new generations of younger audiences. • Snoop Dogg, Fatboy Slim, Ice Cube, Puff Daddy, TLC, Rick Ross, will. i. am and Mark Ronson amongst countless others, have all borrowed sections of their grooves. • 'AWB' (aka 'The White Album') is the 2nd album by AWB and their first for Atlantic Records produced by the legendary Arif Mardin, originally released in 1974. The album reached #6 in the UK Albums Chart and #1 in the USA. • 'AWB' includes the ground-breaking classic 'Pick Up The Pieces', also reaching #6 in the UK, as well as the coveted #1 spot in the USA. • AWB are touring the UK in April and May 2024, "taking the album on the road" • This 50th Anniversary celebratory half-speed master version has been newly mastered by Phil Kinrade, and expertly cut using transfers of the original audio tapes using precision half-speed mastering by Barry Grint at AIR Mastering, London and is pressed on heavyweight 180g vinyl, with a 4-page insert.

  • 1. You Got It 3.33
  • 2. Got the Love 3.50
  • 3. Pick Up the Pieces 3.58
  • 4. Person to Person 3.39
  • 5. Work to Do 4.22
  • 6. Nothing You Can Do 4.08
  • 7. Just Want to Love You Tonight 3.58
  • 8. Keepin' It to Myself 4.01
  • 9. I Just Can't Give You Up 3.29
  • 10. There's Always Someone Waiting 5.35

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play