Tashi Wada What Is Not Strange?

Release date:
June 7, 2024
Pre-order vinyl:

What Is Not Strange? is the first full-length album by Los Angeles-based composer Tashi Wada in over five years, comprising his most far-reaching and impassioned music to date. Written and recorded over a period that encompassed the death of his father and the birth of his daughter, the album sees Wada reflecting inward to explore broad narratives-being alive, mortality, finding one's place in the world-through new modes of ecstatic, song-based expression. While the denser forms, stark contrasts, and overt surreality may carry a different weight than Wada's earlier work, which elicited perceptual effects with minimal means, the heart of What Is Not Strange? is still in experimentation and unforeseen outcomes.

  • 1. What Is Not Strange?
  • 2. Grand Trine
  • 3. Under the Earth
  • 4. Asleep to the World
  • 5. Flame of Perfect Form
  • 6. Revealed Night
  • 7. Subaru
  • 8. Time of Birds
  • 9. Calling
  • 10. Plume
  • 11. This World's Beauty

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play