Release date:
February 23, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Pianist Sultan Stevenson is one of the fastest emerging young artists on the London jazz scene and his trio is already established as an outfit to catch when billed to play live and is being tipped for success on national and international stages. 'Faithful One' features Sultan's band with Jacob Gryn (double bass), Joel Waters (drums), Josh Short (trumpet) and special guest Denys Baptiste on tenor saxophone. His approach to composition and playing has already been compared to that of McCoy Tyner and Esbjörn Svensson and, over the past year, his trio has played standout gigs at Jazz re:freshed, the Vortex and the Jazz Café where the band opened for the great Billy Cobham. Their Pizza Express gig during the EFG London Jazz Festival was a sell-out. "His way of placing silences and making a simple four- note lick grow into something significant showed an incipient master at work."- The Telegraph 1. Foreword 2. Guilty By Association 3. Prayer 4. To Be Seen 5. Safe Passage 6. Thank You, Thank You God 7. Summer Was Our Holy Place 8. He Has Made Me Whole 9. Faithful One 10. Faithful One (reprise) 11. Afterword

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play