Subsignal La Muerta

Release date:
June 22, 2018
Buy vinyl:

Double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. 2018 release. It is the fundamental rule in Subsignal: the band always resets the focus and overhauls the pressure points from album to album. That is why in the run-up to La Muerta the German outfit did not only sign a new record deal with Gentle Art of Music, but the five-piece also made a decision in favor of a modified approach in terms of the project's artistic priorities. While on earlier releases the band still lit up the literal torch to lead the audience's way through the tricky pathways of the delicately tangled progressive rock-undergrowth, this time, despite several hints of assistance here and there, Subsignal indeed put their trust in the power of the songwriting as well as the intuition of the listener. The band's signature energy is no less essential than ever before, but it's unique presence has transformed and taken on a significantly more subtle role. The same goes for the technical sophistication of the musical implementation: it is still a driving force but it no longer lunges right into the listener's face. Much more it clandestinely sneaks up from the - only seemingly! - diffuse atmosphere to ultimately spread with all the force that fans and critics alike have praised. Much more La Muerta showcases a well-oiled fellowship that passionately puts every last bit of energy into the macro-process of painting the big picture. Production duties were put into the hands of RPWL's Yogi Lang and Kalle Wallner. The duo has demonstrated great intuition and provided the songs with enough air to breathe and unfold - without restraining the fascinating density that adds another dimension to that multilayered voyage of discovery that is La Muerta. The paths have been marked, the supplies are packed. This is where the adventure starts - enjoy the ride!

  • 1. 271 Days
  • 2. La Muerta
  • 3. The Bells of Lyonesse
  • 4. Every Able Hand
  • 5. Teardrops Will Dry in Source of Origin
  • 6. The Approaches
  • 7. Even Though the Stars Don't Shine
  • 8. The Passage
  • 9. When All the Trains Are Sleeping
  • 10. As Birds on Pinions Free
  • 11. Some Kind of Drowning
  • 12. The Sea
  • 13. A New Reliance
  • 14. Beautiful & Monstrous

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play