Soul Jazz Records Presents Horace Tapscott With The Pan-Afrikan Peoples Arkestra Live At I.u.c.c.

Release date:
May 3, 2019
Buy vinyl:

Soul Jazz Records are releasing this groundbreaking album by the legendary jazz artist Horace Tapscott & the Pan-Afrikan Peoples Arkestra. Tapscott is the key figure in the LA political & underground jazz scene of the late 20th century with his stridently independent & radical music. This superb rare, deep & spiritual jazz opus album has been unavailable on vinyl for over 40 years. The music is part Sun Ra Arkestra, part John Coltrane, part Art Ensemble of Chicago & explores the multi-faceted deep & spiritual jazz of Tapscott. The Arkestra was set up as a musicians collective in the early 60s, part of a radical jazz scene on the west coast that included Don Cherry, Ornette Coleman & Eric Dolphy. After his debut in 1969 followed 2 albums with Elaine Brown, the only woman to lead the Black Panther party; Tapscott was a community organiser closely aligned to its LA chapter. In the 90s he inspired a new generation; The West Coast Get Down collective, incl. Kamasi Washington & Thundercat.

  • 1. Macrame
  • 2. Future Sally's Time
  • 3. Noissessprahs
  • 4. McKowsky's First Fifth
  • 5. Village Dance
  • 6. L.T.T.
  • 7. Desert Fairy Princess
  • 8. Lift Every Voice

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play