Release date:
December 2, 2022
Buy vinyl:

Shigeru Umebayashi is an internationally renowned composer who is best known for creating 'Yumeji's Theme' for Wong Karwai's film In The Mood For Love. In addition to collaborating with Wong Kar-Wai on 2046, Umebayashi was the music producer and composer for Zhang Yimou's films House Of Flying Daggers and Curse Of The Golden Flower. This is an updated version of Film Fest Ghent's 2010 tribute to the composer's work which featured his most celebrated music. This edition includes material that has not been otherwise released featuring two pieces from A Single Man, a cue from the anthology film Hero and a new arrangement from his breakthrough score, Moyou from Sorekara, which features in the film The Grandmaster. Following the success of vinyl releases featuring Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alan Silvestri in the same series, this double LP on white vinyl in a distinctive gatefold sleeve features world-class recording by Brussels Philharmonic/Dirk Brossé of Umebayashi's most impressive work.

  • 1. Yumeji's Theme (From "In the Mood for Love")
  • 2. Theme of the Empress (From "Curse of the Golden Flower")
  • 3. Curse of the Golden Flower (From "Curse of the Golden Flower")
  • 4. Mother & Jai (From "Curse of the Golden Flower")
  • 5. Polonaise (From "2046")
  • 6. Interlude (From "2046")
  • 7. 2046 Main Theme (From "2046")
  • 8. Incendiary Main Theme (From "Incendiary")
  • 9. Victoria Station (From "Incendiary")
  • 10. Joan's Cello (From "Hero")
  • 11. Vendetta March (From "Tears for Sale")
  • 12. George's Waltz (II) (From "A Single Man")
  • 13. A Variation on "Scotty Tails Madeleine" / Carlos (From "A Single Man")
  • 14. Hollow Inside (From "Hannibal Rising")
  • 15. Train (From "Zhou Yu's Train")
  • 16. Moyou (From "The Grandmaster")
  • 17. Sorekara Main Theme (From "And Then")
  • 18. In Times Past and Gone
  • 19. No Way Out (From "House of Flying Daggers")
  • 20. Farewell No 2 (From "House of Flying Daggers")
  • 21. Lovers (From "House of Flying Daggers")

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play