Sarah Davachi Cantus Descant

Release date:
September 18, 2020
Buy vinyl:

The new Sarah Davachi record is an 80 minute, 17 track double album meditation on impermanence and endings, framed by minimalistic organ etudes and careful harmonic layering. On two tracks the artist's own vocals are also heard for the first time. This is the first release on the artist's own label, Late Music. The title of the record ' Cantus, Descant ' has both literal and metaphorical meaning and is something of a concept album that addresses the relationship between the two. Davachi comments: 'The pervading affect on the album is one that gives reverence to the suspension, the epoch, a space where we welcome and attempt to reconcile impermanence. It is an opportunity to go inside ' oneself, one's sound ' in order to simultaneously commune with our comforts and that which we mourn, perhaps not unlike the function of a hymn.'

  • 1. Stations II
  • 2. The Pelican
  • 3. Ruminant
  • 4. Still Lives
  • 5. Stations V
  • 6. Midlands
  • 7. Play The Ghost
  • 8. Stations IV
  • 9. Passing Bell
  • 10. Hanging Gardens
  • 11. Stations I
  • 12. Gold Upon White
  • 13. Oldgrowth
  • 14. Stations III
  • 15. Canyon Walls
  • 16. Badlands
  • 17. Diaphonia Basilica

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play