Ruim Black Royal Spiritism (I.o Sino Da Igreja)

Release date:
June 2, 2023
Buy vinyl:

RUÏM was formed in 2020 by the Norwegian born, Grammy award winning guitarist Blasphemer (Rune Eriksen), known from acts such as Vltimas & Mayhem. Joining Blasphemer on drums is French born drummer César Vesvre (Agressor, Thagirion). Driven by a firm desire to revisit the style of music he has dedicated himself to & been associated with since the mid 90´s & inspired by the rediscovery of a long lost tape of old, unused Mayhem-era riffs from 98/99, the concept of starting a new project based around these ideas manifested itself quickly. Soon, a new vision was born for an album immersed in Brazilian witchcraft & the left-hand path of the Umbanda tradition - a practice in which Blasphemer himself is taught in - to deliver a new blackened opus in the vein Blasphemer has been synonymous with since his inception into Mayhem back in 1994 (until 2007). 'Black Royal Spiritism - I. O Sino da Igreja' is RUÏM's debut studio album. It presents a glimpse of something new, unique, visionary & highly eclectic. This album marks the beginning of a concept set to span a trilogy of releases exploring & incorporating a deeply personal expression of Blasphemer's own beliefs regarding the greater spirits of the left-hand path. A pitch-black offering, 'Black Royal Spiritism' is steeped in ominous & eerie, unnerving darkness. Each track is meticulously woven with a sinister undercurrent, given flesh by Blasphemer's highly distinctive brutal riffing style, with atmospheric, ambient & clean passage interludes featuring among the chaos. Vocals on 'Black Royal Spiritism - I. O Sino da Igreja' are also handled by Blasphemer himself, sung in a mix of English, Portuguese & Norwegian, with lyrical themes rooted in a celebration & dedication to the lore & rituals of linha da esquerda. Proscriptor McGovern from 'Absu' also makes a guest appearance on a savage re-recording of the Mayhem classic 'Fall Of Seraphs' bringing fresh life to the track, which Blasphemer wrote back in 1995 & which originally featured on the 'Wolf's Lair Abyss' EP. This edition of the album is presented on limited edition gold vinyl.

  • 1. Blood. Sacrifice. Enthronement (10:09)
  • 2. The Triumph (Of Night & Fire) (04:36)
  • 3. The Black House (05:36)
  • 4. Ao Rio (04:01)
  • 5. Black Royal Spiritism (07:08)
  • 6. Evig Dissonans (05:21)
  • 7. Fall of Seraphs (06:01)
  • 8. O Sino Da Igreja (04:08)

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play