Release date:
May 31, 2024
Buy vinyl:

'Trails' is a 7-track release clocking in at just over 23 minutes by guitarist and composer Robbie Belchamber, which draws upon elements of jazz, Brazilian, West African and folk music. The compositions are centered around the soft timbre of fingerstyle nylon-string guitar, with subtle arrangements incorporating voice, flute, percussion, mandolin, accordion and electric guitar filling out the texture.'During lockdown I spent a lot of time exploring Melbourne's northern waterways, riding my bike along the Birrarung, Darebin creek and Merri creek. These opportunities to slow down, reflect, observe and spend time in nature formed the genesis of many of the compositions. 'Trails' sonifies these experiences, the bubbling rhythms of water, melodic inventions of currawongs and magpie-larks, pervasive scents of the bush, all changing with the seasons.''Trails' is the first release under Robbie Belchamber, and features collaborations Melbourne musicians such as Lucky Pereira (Glass Beams, 30/70), Hannah McKittrick, Grace Robinson (Empress), Moses Carr, Aidan Ryan (NoLess) and Erica Tuccerri.Tracklisting:A1. Coalesce (3:41)A2. Slack Tide (3:11)A3. Shallow Crossing (3:10)B1. Interchange (3:30)B2. Interlude (A Platypus Under the Suspension Bridge) (2:09)B3. Eddy (2:58)B4. Runoff (feat. Aidan Ryan) (4:35)

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play