Mounika. Don't Look At Me

Release date:
July 14, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Three years after his last album 'I Need Space', Mounika. Is back on his favorite playground: electronic music, which arouses his curiosity since his beginnings. He is now ready to unveil 'Don't Look At Me', a new opus that takes us, by other paths, to his unique universe. Recorded during the confinement in the intimacy of his home studio, the French artist reveals little by little another facet of his artistic personality, more raw and affirmed, without totally abandoning the cottony sounds already proposed on titles like 'Cut My Hair' (diamond single) or 'Tender Love' (gold single). We discover sensitive compositions, still inspired by his love for trip-hop, piano and artists who made his musical culture during his youth: Moby, Ratatat, Air or Bonobo. After all, a Mounika. #album without a tribute to these figures is not really an album... But something new was needed to distinguish this opus from the previous ones. From the very first tracks, we can clearly feel this need for exploration that has always guided the French producer. 'BonXair' or 'Nomadics' take us, for example, in a more straight electronic, more heady than usual. In the same spirit, the rhythms close to the deep house of a track like 'See You Dancing In The Dark' offer to the album a new direction, and yet is quite representative of the work undertaken by Mounika. #these last years. In this new record that will also satisfy the fans of the first hour, the French artist has also opened to collaborations of choice. Mounika. #works on the heart, and thus wished to welcome those who have particularly marked him during his more or less recent discoveries. The American artist Roland Faunte lends his voice to the effective 'Little Love', while Ural Thomas & The Pain (discovered notably on the series 'It's Bruno') takes care of the chorus of 'I Looked Into Her Eyes'. The British rapper Lord Apex delivers a spellbinding performance on 'Memories'. Put together, these appearances perfectly complement the energy transcribed by Mounika. #throughout 'Don't Look At Me'.

  • 1. 20
  • 2. Little Love (FT. Roland Faunte)
  • 3. I Looked Into Her Eyes (FT. Ural Thomas & the Pain)
  • 4. Bonxair
  • 5. Nomadics
  • 6. See You Dancing in the Dark
  • 7. Emotional
  • 8. Don't Smoke
  • 9. Thinking of
  • 10. * (FT. ?)
  • 11. Dreams
  • 12. Mo1994By
  • 13. Cuzratatat
  • 14. Aye
  • 15. When My Heart in Your Heart
  • 16. Outro (End of the Part.1)

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play