Mito Y Comadre Guajirando

Release date:
November 17, 2023
Buy vinyl:

ZZK Records presents Mito y Comadre's Guajirando, a journey into the reinvention of traditional Venezuelan musicFor years the ancestral riches of the folklore, culture and traditions of the indigenous peoples of Latin America have withstood the passing of time and the different impositions and trends of an increasingly globalized world that seems intent on pushing them into oblivion. Their fight to stay true to their roots and preserve their legacy means there is more and more interest in sharing these treasures with the world. Guajirando comes from this interest in finding recognition in our roots. This is the debut record from Mito y Comadre, the Venezuelan synth-pop and electronic roots group who with these nine previously unreleased songs take us on a journey through the sights and sounds of their country. The fusion of electronic sounds pays homage to a rarely explored music, one that is profoundly rooted in the territory, creating a dialogue between native percussions and rhythms such as the quitiplás, the malembe and the quichimba of Barlovento, the macizón and perra of the Caribbean coast, the calypso of the heartland, the flauta guajira and the gaita oriental, among other instruments. Backed by machines, electronic elements and the production of Grammy winner Christian Castagno (Bomba Estéreo, Systema Solar, Iggy Pop, Arcade Fire), they seek to bring visibility to these traditional rhythms with contemporary tendencies, creating a visionary fusion that places them on the scene as one of the most promising proponents of experimental Venezuelan music today.

  • 1. Barlovento
  • 2. Yo Siempre Estare' Ahi'
  • 3. La Quichimba
  • 4. Sera Que Pica
  • 5. Guajirando
  • 6. Noche de Vela
  • 7. Siento Una Pena
  • 8. Va a Ver
  • 9. Palo de Agua

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play