Minas Num Dia Azul

Release date:
October 20, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Minas 'Num Dia Azul' is a sublime slice of private press bossa nova meets jazzy MPB perfection. Warm and bubbling with youthful spirit, the music is simultaneously loose in swagger, yet slick and tight. The album was originally released in 1983 and reflects the great music coming out of Rio at the time, yet 'Num Dia Azul' wasn't recorded in Rio, but actually in the USA.Recorded in North Carolina, it was only released for the Brazilian market on their own Blueazul Records imprint. As with most private press labels, they could only afford to have it pressed in small quantities. To add to it's later obscurity, hundreds of copies were also destroyed in a house fire. They say cream always rises to the top, and fast forward to the 2010s, the word amongst collectors and DJs was spreading about this mythical under-the-radar recording.For this Mr Bongo 2023 re-issue, we have tried to keep it as close to the original 1983 version as possible, both in the packaging and audio presentation.

  • 1. Num Dia Azul (In a Blue City)
  • 2. Sinal Verde (Green Light)
  • 3. So Danço Samba (I Only Dance the Samba)
  • 4. Calma Mulher (Cool It Woman)
  • 5. Canção Da Chuva (Song of the Rain)
  • 6. Samba Walk
  • 7. Choro Sambaião

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play