Melissa Errico Out Of The Dark The Film Noir Project

Release date:
September 30, 2022
Buy vinyl:

"Visceral, emotional, at times overwhelming" - Melissa Errico's new album, "Out Of The Dark: The Film Noir Project" has the critics raving. A sexy, sophisticated, intricately interwoven evocation of the Noir world of mysterious nightclubs and heartbreaking femmes fatales, the spell she casts is irresistible. In an unforgettably sexy, sensual, and sophisticated arc- all black-velvet piano, plaintive saxophone and trumpet, with vibraphone tones- it tells a complete story of hope, despair, and renewal. As the Wall Street Journal declared: "She takes us inside and then out of her romantic hallucinations, breathing as she breathes, seeing what she sees, feeling what she feels." The seductive album of the season! Song selections reach from noir classics, such as "Laura" and "The Bad and The Beautiful," into the French chansons of the 1950's and 60's, plus the debut of four entirely new songs, by Michel Legrand, David Shire, and the late Peter Foley, with words by her frequent collaborator Adam Gopnik, all arranged by musical director, pianist Tedd Firth. Also included in the 17-song collection are Cy Coleman & David Zippel's "With Every Breath I Take" (from the Broadway musical, City of Angels), Dietz & Schwartz's "Haunted Heart" (1948), Arlen & Gershwin's "The Man That Got Away" (1953), Lionel Newman's "Again" (1948), and Harry Warren and & Leo Robin's mischievous 1952 "Checkin' My Heart" (1952)."EXTRAORDINARY!" - Terry Teachout, The Wall Street Journal.

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play