Release date:
August 23, 2024
Pre-order vinyl:

There are ghosts all across AVANTI, the debut album fromMalice K. At points it's howling and unhinged, a grungy layeratop a lush foundation of melodic capital-s Songwriting, but inother moments it dissolves into a gentle, wistful haunting.Malice K's songs are blunt, uncomplicated and unflinching as heprobes the interiority of memories, of mistakes - saturated withan innate intensity that sucks you into his gnarled and visceralworld, so barbed it could draw blood.Malice K is helmed by visual artist and songwriter AlexKonschuh, New York-based but born and raised in Olympia,Washington. Following a stint living in Los Angeles, where hebecame a member of the artist collective Death Proof Inc., a tripto New York resulted in him simply never leaving the city. Aperiod of chaos ensued, Malice K exhausted and unmoored andultimately, unwell.The record is unpredictable across it's 11 songs. The album openswith a jarring scream on "Halloween," Malice K's breathlessvocals buried beneath a grungy, roving Nineties riff. The trackemanates a manic energy, enveloping. It's a fitting entrypointfor the record, and for the vividness of Malice K. The snarling andobsessive "You're My Girl" has a swaggering paranoia: "I got sohigh I thought my hand touching my hand was your hand." ButAVANTI exists in quieter moments too; "Radio," with it'sfluttering morose cello, moves at an almost glacial pacecomparatively. The aching wistfulness of "The Old House" is analbum stand-out, anchored in an acoustic guitar, an uneasylullaby that never quite settles into itself: "I think to myself I gotthe things that I wanted, but I can't help think there'ssomething else that I forgot to do."A recent press interview called Malice K a shapeshifter, but he'snot amorphous in that way. He's decisive and intense, moreconcerned with carving his own path, and building his ownworld. Every part of Malice K is distinctly himself: from hissweaty high-octane shows to the high-flash high-contrastphotos; from his gnarled and unsettling illustrations to thestudio recordings that vacillate between grief and tenderness,there's an exceptional ferocity across everything Malice Ktouches.AVANTI feels lived in, like peering into an abandoned housethrough a window smeared with grimy fingerprints, relics of alife well-lived scattered inside - despite being a debut, there'sthe sense that Malice K arrived fully-realized, imperfections andall.

  • 1. Halloween
  • 2. Hold Me Up
  • 3. Song for My Baby
  • 4. The Old House
  • 5. Weed
  • 6. Radio
  • 7. You're My Girl
  • 8. Concrete Angel
  • 9. Fade
  • 10. Raining
  • 11. Blue Monday

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play