Lotus How to Dream in Color

Release date:
August 16, 2024
Pre-order vinyl:

Lotus were early innovators in fusing electronic dance music with a jam band model of improvisation and ever-changing setlists. The four-piece group also draws on psychedelic rock, krautrock, post-rock, disco, and funk. Their dance-inducing, high-energy shows have made them festival favorites, as they move between high-flying guitar solos and modular synth workouts, with tightly composed songs and free-ranging group improvisation.2024's How to Dream in Color is Lotus's 11th full-length studio album. While largely an instrumental group, vocals appear on several songs across the record's 12 tracks - both as traditional singing and as manipulated electronic elements; each composition builds it's world and atmosphere. "How Do I Come Down" is a rocking banger lead-off song with hints of Radiohead and features vocals from Gabe Otto. Watching the Distant Storm layers synths and cut-up vocals to form a groovy, chill, wholly unique experience. "In the Shadow of the Mountain" is a driving Krautrock instrumental that builds to glorious climax over 8:30 minutes.

  • 1. How Do I Come Down
  • 2. Splinter
  • 3. Watching the Distant Storm
  • 4. On My Block
  • 5. Reed
  • 6. Can You Hear the Sound
  • 7. Electric Orange
  • 8. Bamboo Forest
  • 9. Glass
  • 10. In the Shadow of the Mountain
  • 11. Goodnight Supermoon
  • 12. Wavvvves

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play