Kevin Harrison - Inscrutably Obvious

Kevin Harrison

Inscrutably Obvious

Release date: April 05, 2019
Format: LP Album
Hailing from Nuneaton, England, Kevin Harrison recorded both solo and collaboratively throughout the late '70s and early '80s. While his early recordings would come out in hyper-limited editions or go unreleased for decades, Inscrutably Obvious remains his sole LP-a lost gem of Britian's '80s cassette culture and DIY bedroom aesthetics. Originally released in 1981, Inscrutably Obvious covers a lot of ground on it's seventeen inscrutable tracks-from analog synth workouts to mutated disco and shimmering guitar improvisations. The album maintains a late-night vibe, filtered through a post-punk lens. Harrison clearly wears his influences on his sleeve-major debts are paid to Brian Eno, Robert Fripp and Manuel Gottsching-yet finds his own unique voice, combining quirky instrumentals and surrealist sensibilities. This first-time reissue is recommended for fans of Chris & Cosey, Cupol and The Normal. Inscrutably Obvious sounds as fresh today as it must have nearly 40 years ago.

  • 1. The Cantonese Detective Agency
  • 2. Some Aspects of Music
  • 3. All Night Long
  • 4. Wooden Heartthrob of Peking
  • 5. Chase the Dragon
  • 6. The Word
  • 7. Cyclotron
  • 8. Water
  • 9. Take It Away
  • 10. Flicker
  • 11. Stretch/1
  • 12. Stretch/2
  • 13. Horizontal/Diagonal
  • 14. M0903A
  • 15. Melodica Melodica
  • 16. People in Space
  • 17. Free-Float
Order vinyl:

05 April 2019 / More records