Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Kamaal Williams - Wu Hen

Kamaal Williams

Wu Hen

Release date: October 02, 2020
Label: Warp Records
Syle: Jazz
Wu Hen is the sophomore album from Peckham visionary Kamaal Williams -- an invitation to elevate to a higher state. Cinematic strings from Miguel-Atwood Ferguson and virtuoso saxophone from Quinn Mason are textural additions that make for a deeper, multi-layered experience than previous releases. Bringing groove back to the forefront, Wu Hen oscillates between celestial jazz, funk, rap and r&b reinforced with the rugged beat-heavy attitude of grime, jungle, house and garage a self-styled fusion Kamaal describes as Wu Funk. New players on this record include LA s Greg Paul on drums (of Kalayst Collective), Rick Leon James on bass, Quinn Mason on saxophone alongside vocal features from cult rapper Mach-Hommy and Kaytranada collaborator Lauren Faith. Multi-talented renaissance musician Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (who has worked with Ray Charles, Flying Lotus, Dr. Dre, Mary J. Blige, and Seu Jorge) contributes signature strings, which add vivid colour and rich depth, evoking vintage David Axelrod.
  • 1. Street Dreams (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
  • 2. One More Time
  • 3. 1989 (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
  • 4. Toulouse (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
  • 5. Pigalle
  • 6. Big Rick
  • 7. Save Me
  • 8. Mr Wu
  • 9. Hold On (feat. Lauren Faith)
  • 10. Early Prayer
Pre-order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

02 October 2020 / More records