Jordan Munson Heartless Fools - Amber

Release date:
January 19, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Heartless Fools is a collection of works exploring multiplicity and often contradictory ideas. Supported by a Creative Renewal Fellowship from the Arts Council of Indianapolis, many of the works were realized and recorded in January 2018 at Greenhouse Studios in Reykjavík, Iceland. Since these initial recordings, the music has grown through far-reaching collaborations with musicians in the worlds of jazz, classical, and pop. Album credits include experimental pop trio Square Peg Round Hole, vocalists Isaiah Robinson and Hanna Benn, and Icelandic cellist Þórdís Gerður Jónsdóttir.While the music itself is not intended to be political, the title Heartless Fools refers to the response of two characters to the current political landscape. The first is working through shock and grief as they awake to the realities of this world, and is trying to make sense of it all. The other, fueled by an imagined loss of cultural identity, is full of a rage that causes them to do inhumane things. This shows up in the music as a struggle between order and chaos, contemplation and impatience. The works constantly push in pull, both internally and with one another.

  • 1. My Heart
  • 2. Christmas, 1914
  • 3. Collapse
  • 4. Miracles
  • 5. Heartless Fools
  • 6. Attack
  • 7. Repair
  • 8. Slowed Over

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play