Jolie Holland Haunted Mountain

Release date:
October 6, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Jolie Holland's Haunted Mountain is a beckoning, confronting place. At once ancient and of the moment, it hums with literary and political interconnections. The songs illuminate states of dispossession and alienation, lust and pollination: a state of reciprocity with our living planet. The record is a creation beyond genre, a refined jewel refracting anti-patriarchal dance music, sultry anti-fascist love songs to bats and bees. The album's rendered environments - ranging from sparse acoustic constellations to dense electronic atmospheres - are punctuated with nuanced percussion from cicadas, drums and even knuckles on piano. These sound-worlds were produced and animated by a trio of multi-instrumentalists: Jolie Holland, Adam Brisbin and Justin Veloso, and helping to conjure the album, the great magician Buck Meek (Big Thief). In an audacious conspiracy, both Meek and Holland include versions of their song "Haunted Mountain," and both name their records after the song.

  • 1. 2,000 Miles
  • 2. Feet on the Ground
  • 3. Highway 72
  • 4. Won't Find Me
  • 5. One of You
  • 6. Haunted Mountain
  • 7. Me and My Dream
  • 8. Orange Blossoms
  • 9. What It's Worth

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play