Jane Woe Jane Woe

Release date:
December 8, 2023
Buy vinyl:

And now, the self-titled debut from self-described "boot-gaze" Houston band Jane Woe. The act brings together pedal steel guitarist, multi-instrumentalist and producer Scott Ayers from grunge-goth legends Pain Teens and more recently Frog Hair, bassist and backing vocalist Carol Sandin Cooley from the city's punk and experimental scene, drummer Kirk Suddreath who working with Ballet Houston and local theater groups creates improvisational recordings, and, fronted by guitarist and vocalist Erin Dance. Hunter S. Thompson wrote "Houston is a cruel, crazy town on a filthy river in East Texas with no zoning laws and a culture of sex, money and violence." The innocent and girlish timbre of Dance's voice belie the knowing experience of her words. Cast against the succinct country arrangements and atmospheric playing the band create an uneasy, humid and tuneful sizzle that finds humor and seeks hope in a city with no heart. This limited LP is pressed on translucent red 140gram vinyl.

  • 1. Cuckhold's Ball
  • 2. Gimme Gold
  • 3. Hi Ho Silver
  • 4. Gravy
  • 5. Dream
  • 6. Train Song
  • 7. This Is a Raid
  • 8. Texas Shine
  • 9. Hard Headed Woman
  • 10. Howling at the Walls

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play