James Gang - The Best Of The James Gang Featuring Joe Walsh All-Analog

James Gang

The Best Of The James Gang Featuring Joe Walsh All-Analog

Release date: June 15, 2018
Format: 200 gram
The 10 best songs from the acclaimed Joe Walsh-led trio Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog tape Plating and 200-gram pressing by Quality Record Pressings! Gatefold tip-on jacket by Stoughton Printing The 10 best songs from 1969's Yer' Album, 1970's Rides Again and 1971's Thirds. The James Gang, formed in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1966, may be best known as the band that was first to feature guitarist/vocalist Joe Walsh before his rise to stardom as a solo musician and a member of the Eagles. The James Gang performed with a stylistic versatility, hard-rocking edge and ultra-sharp musicianship. Their power-trio template has never sounded fiercer than on this Analogue Productions 200-gram reissue. Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, pressed at Quality Record Pressings — makers of the world's finest-sounding LPs — and packaged in a tip-on heavyweight jacket from Stoughton Printing, this sterling reissue looks as great as it sounds. You'll hear James Gang favorites including the FM radio staple "Funk #49," - kick-started by the outspoken declaration "I sleep all day, out all night/I know where you're goin'" - the sexual thrust of the head-bobbing "Woman," and proto-metal slash of the multi-part "The Bomber." The rest of the track list is just as steeped in psychedelic-and-blues-leaning discourse. "Midnight Man," "Stop," "Yadig?" "Take A Look Around," "Funk #48," "Walk Away" and the Jack Nitzsche-orchestrated "Ashes the Rain and I" are rounded out by Walsh's Echoplex-equipped slide guitar, and his trio-mates, band founder Jim Fox on drums, piano and vocals, and bassist Tom Kriss, later replaced by Dale Peters. The James Gang burning on stage with the audience getting higher and higher. Listen — this is American music — strong, inventive and clean.

  • 1. Walk Away
  • 2. Funk #49
  • 3. Midnight Man
  • 4. The Bomber: Closet Queen/Bolero/Cast Your Fate To The Wind
  • 5. Yadig
  • 6. Take A Look Around
  • 7. Funk #48
  • 8. Woman
  • 9. Ashes The Rain And I
  • 10. Stop
Order vinyl:

15 June 2018 / More records

Subscribe to our newsletter