Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Inwardness -Space Jazz


Space Jazz

Release date: August 10, 2018
Label: Ozella
Format: LP Album
First contact between the musicians of Inwardness is established at a concert in Morocco. A year later, they meet again, this time in the South of France. Months are spent in isolation, in search of new forms of interaction. The trio experiment with different playing modes: playing blindfolded, in the midst of nature or during rush hour in the city centre. The result is a free floating sound, a silence pierced by subtle noises and whispering frequencies. Davy Sur is one of the few drummers capable of navigating the open spaces of this music. For Inwardness, he has managed to extract an intriguingly delicate sound from his instruments. Hihats are rustling like leaves in the wind, drums are rumbling like an approaching thunderstorm, singular rimshots hit the ear like the cane of a zen master. On top of these poetic allusions, David Amir is teaching his saxophone to fly, guided by Maciek Pysz's determined guitar motives. So don't let the title of this album fool you. Space Jazz is not about moon landings, worm holes and distant planets. Rather, Inwardness are leading listeners into the spaces between the notes, setting course for equally familiar and alien microcosms. And five minutes of your time are all they need to create truly transcendental mind states.
  • 1.I. Morning
  • 2.Ii. Afternoon
  • 3.Seven Lakes
  • 4.I. Through Space
  • 5.Ii. Through Space
  • 6.Ii. Moon - Landing
  • 7.Before And After
  • 8.I. One Hour Waiting
  • 9.Ii. One Hour Now
  • 10.Iii. One Hour Later
  • 11.Rise Up
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

10 August 2018 / More records