Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
George Jackson -In Memphis

George Jackson

In Memphis

Release date: August 07, 2020
During the 1970s George Jackson made a series of sublime southern soul recordings at Sounds Of Memphis studios. This LP gathers together rare singles and tracks that were unreleased at the time to showcase this golden period in the soul singer-songwriter's career. Recorded using many of the players from the Hi house band, who were at the time being featured on the recordings of Al Green and Ann Peebles. Four tracks are making their first appearance on vinyl, whilst the compilation features both sides of his rare 1975 Chess single 'Macking On You' b/w 'Things Are Getting' Better' and his ER single 'Talking About The Love I Have For You', which regularly sells for over $1000 on auction. Jackson had a long career that saw him write hit singles for artists such as Candi Staton, Clarence Carter, the Osmonds and Bob Seeger, whilst covers of his songs have been UK hits for both Yazz and Joss Stone. However, his success as a writer somewhat obscured his talent as a performer, something that our series of releases focused on him has sought to rectify.
  • 1.Talking About the Love I Have for You
  • 2.How Can I Get Next to You?
  • 3.If You Never See Me
  • 4.Things Are Gettin' Better
  • 5.Walking the City Streets
  • 6.I Don't Need You No More
  • 7.Let's Live for Ourselves
  • 8.You Can't Run Away from Love
  • 9.MacKing on You
  • 10.Dear Abby
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

07 August 2020 / More records