Fimbulwinter Servants Of Sorcery (Gold)

Release date:
November 24, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Official Release Of The Cult Classic Primitive Norwegian Black Metal Recorded In 1992, Featuring Dimmu Borgir's Shagrath And Includes Bonus Tracks. Limited Gold Vinyl Edition Featuring 12" Booklet & Posters. Fimbulwinter, though short-lived, created a sole cult release in the form of 1994's 'Servants of Sorcery', which emerged as the "second wave" of Norwegian black metal was truly taking hold. The band was formed in Oslo 1992, led by the notable figure of Shagrath, becoming most known afterwards as mainman for the phenomenon that was Dimmu Borgir. A more raw affair than the symphonic majesty of Dimmu Borgir, Fimbulwinter demonstrated a primal and fierce black metal attack, and concocted a perfect example of the early-90s style, with an extra injection of praise to bands of the 80s. Even though 'Servants of Sorcery' as a release didn't see the light of day until 1994, the tracks themselves were recorded back in the winter of 1992, and so stand as an essential and influential early example of what was to form a whole new chapter in metal history. Joining Shagrath was Skoll (Ved Buens Ende, Ulver, Arcturus) on bass, with the line-up completed by Necronos & Orbweaver. This edition of 'Servants of Sorcery' - a title consistently requested by fans for a proper reissue for many years - notably includes material plus additional songs sourced and transferred from the band's own tape collection (with work overseen by Shagrath himself), to present this most complete and comprehensive edition of Fimbulwinter's work and legacy. Alongside Fimbulwinter's own original material of spellbinding lo-fi grim chaos are storming cover versions of 'Morbid Tales' by Celtic Frost (which featured on the original 'Servants of Sorcery' release), plus 'The Watchtower' by Darkthrone, which is now included for the first time. 'Servants of Sorcery' is presented on gatefold vinyl format, with a limited gold pressing. The packaging includes the original iconic early 90s cover image, and also contains a 12" booklet featuring rare and unseen photographs, plus two double-sided posters.

  • 1. Intro - Terrifying Call from the Dark Side [00:57]
  • 2. When the Fire Leaps from
  • 3. The Ash Mountain [05:58]
  • 4. Servants of Sorcery [06:52]
  • 5. Black Metal Storm [03:12]
  • 6. Fimbulwinter Sacrifice [07:54]
  • 7. Roaring Hellfire [07:34]
  • 8. Lucified [06:08]
  • 9. The Watchtower (Darkthrone Cover) [05:15]
  • 10. Morbid Tales (Celtic Frost Cover) [03:36]
  • 11. Winter Solstice [03:38]

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play