Fay Victor Life Is Funny That Way

Release date:
April 5, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Acclaimed vocalist-lyricist-arranger Fay Victor & her Herbie Nichols SUNG Quintet celebrate & thoroughly reconsider the rich legacy of jazz composer Herbie Nichols with Life Is Funny That Way, and bring it singing boldly into this century. Following on Billie Holiday, who famously wrote "Lady Sings The Blues" to Nichols' "Serenade," Victor developed this deep love project over the course of decade, after years of exploring the late composer's work. This landmark album marks the first time that a full program of lyrics have been written & recorded for Nichols' compositions. The innovative arrangements -also by Victor- are brought to vibrant life by a dedicated & deeply gifted quintet of veteran performers; Michaƫl Attias (alto & baritone sax), Anthony Coleman (piano), Ratzo Harris (bass), and Tom Rainey (drums). The source material is from Nichols' Blue Note sessions of 1955-56, and 3 compositions not recorded in his lifetime. 2xLP With erudite & extensive liners by Kevin Whitehead.

  • 1. Life Is Funny That Way
  • 2. The Bassist
  • 3. Bright Butterfly
  • 4. Sinners, All of Us!
  • 5. The Culprit Is You
  • 6. Shuffle Montgomery
  • 7. Tonight
  • 8. Lady Sings the Blues
  • 9. Twelve Bars
  • 10. Descent Into Madness
  • 11. Non-Fraternization Clause

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play