Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Fab 5 Freddy - Soul Jazz Records Presents Keith Haring: The World Of Keith Haring

Fab 5 Freddy

Soul Jazz Records Presents Keith Haring: The World Of Keith Haring (3xLP)

Release date: July 19, 2019
Soul Jazz Records are releasing this stunning new collection, The World of Keith Haring, featuring music influential to the artist Keith Haring. The art of Keith Haring is today one of the most recognisable of any visual artists of his generation, defining 1980s New York during an intense period when downtown artists and musicians collaborated like never before. Harings musical inspiration took in the punk/dance downtown sounds of clubs like The Mudd Club, underground disco at Larry Levans Paradise Garage, as well the early days of hip-hop and electro. The album is released to coincide with the opening of the first major exhibition in the UK of Keith Harings work at Tate Liverpool and which runs for the next six months. Harings many friends included Jean-Michel Basquiat, Andy Warhol, Madonna, Fab Five Freddy, William Burroughs, Jenny Holzer, Yoko Ono, Grace Jones, Larry Levan, Futura 2000.If you were looking for a person to guide you through the wide variety of nightclub scenes of downtown New York in the 1980s, then Keith Haring would have been your man.This album comes in deluxe artwork and three formats Double CD + 48-page book, a deluxe 3xLP + bonus 7 + download code vinyl version, and a standard 3xLP + download standard vinyl version. All formats of the album feature stunning photography, extensive sleevenotes and interviews.The music here includes the work of a number of Harings close friends, including Jean-Michel Basquiat, Yoko Ono, Larry Levan, John Sex and George Condo (The Girls), as well as healthy dose of rare disco, early electro and New York punk/dance tracks.
  • 1. B Beat Girls - For The Same Man
  • 2. Damon Harris - It's Music
  • 3. Pylon - Danger
  • 4. The Jonzun Crew - Pak Man (Look Out For The OVC)
  • 5. Funk Masters - Love Money
  • 6. John Sex - Bump And Grind It
  • 7. Sylvester - Over And Over (12" Disco Mix)
  • 8. Johnny Dynell and New York 88 - Jam Hot (Rhumba Rock)
  • 9. Art Zoyd - Sortie 134 (Part 2)
  • 10. Adiche - Chuka-Ja (Get Ready)
  • 11. Class Action - Weekend (Larry Levan Mix)
  • 12. Gray - Cut It Up High Priest
  • 13. The Golden Flamingo Orchestra - The Guardian Angel Is Watching Over Us
  • 14. Extra T's - E.T. Boogie
  • 15. Fab 5 Freddy - Change The Beat
  • 16. Convertion - Let's Do It
  • 17. Yoko Ono - Walking On Thin Ice
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

19 July 2019 / More records