Duke Robillard They Called It Rhythm & Blues

Release date:
September 9, 2022
Buy vinyl:

Anyone who knows Duke's music, will immediately smile at the first few seconds of the opening track "Here I'm Is" from the new album They Call It Rhythm & Blues, available on 180g Black vinyl from Stony Plain Records. It's that joyous jump-blues shuffle sound that Duke has been perfecting since the late 60s. Indeed, every song on this album is about the groove, master musicianship, great understated taste and a perfect band mix that always complements the pulse and the singer. Duke's guitar is at the center and brings it all together.

For a lifetime Duke Robillard has been playing the jazzy corners of the blues. He was a founder of Roomful of Blues in the early 1970s, and replaced Jimmy Vaughan in the Fabulous Thunderbirds in the 1990s and was a core member of the New Guitar Summit through the 2000s, in addition to releasing an astounding 37 albums on his own. He has won the W.C. Handy Award as Best Blues Guitarist twice, and been nominated for two Best Blues Album Grammy Awards. He is credited with taking the blues to a new level for multiple generations of blues guitarists. Special guests include:

John Hammond
Kim Wilson
Sue Foley
Michelle Wilson
Sugar Ray Norcia
Many More!


1 Here I'm Is
2 No Good Lover
3 Tell Me Why
4 Homeless Blues
5 Rambler Blues
6 Outta Here
7 In The Wee Wee Hours
8 Champagne Mind
9 She's My Baby
10 The Things I Forgot To Do
11 No Place To Go
12 I Can't Understand It

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play