Dudley Perkins Expressions 2012 A.u.

Release date:
July 7, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Available for the first time since originally released in 2006 via Stones Throw, Dudley Perkins & Madlib are pleased for the reissue of their sophomore collaborative LP, Expressions (2012 A.U.), their acclaimed follow-up to their 2003 debut effort, A Lil' Light. And albeit the former can be accused of being excessively avant-garde, it's Expressions where both Perkins and the Beat Konducta find a more fluid symmetry. In everything from his collaborations with MF Doom and the late Jay Dee to his more recent pairing with Freddie Gibbs, Madlib is easily one of hip-hop's golden revolutionaries. At times his production has been accused of being sparse, but that's not the case with Expressions. This time around, Madlib's production is hitting all the funky corners with layered grooves that evoke the attitudes and emotions of A Tribe Called Quest's The Low End Theory. Perkins's objective to keep the grooves flowing on Expressions is laid down with first lines of opener "Funky Dudley": "A little bit of funk and a dash of soul/ A little bit of George borrowed from my Ol' gran' pappy's stack of old school/ One nation under a groove." From there on the funk samples dance famously with Dudley's vocal style, which cross-pollinates the worlds of D'Angelo and Ol' Dirty Bastard. From "Get on Up" to the James Brown vocal sample in "Dolla Bill," Expressions uses Perkins's voice as if it were a sample itself, incorporating it in the production and the rhythms. Madlib's production works flawlessly, his semi-psychedelic influence on R&B, soul and hip-hop keeping Perkins's style fresh and original. All the parts seem to be in place on Expressions as producer and emcee work side-by-side to create a cohesive sound that not only represents the creativity of the underground but could also awaken the tired ears of the mainstream.

  • 1. Funky Dudley
  • 2. Me
  • 3. Testin' Me
  • 4. Get on Up!
  • 5. Come Here My Dear
  • 6. That's the Way It's Gonna Be
  • 7. Domestic (Interlude)
  • 8. Seperate Ways
  • 9. Dollar Bill
  • 10. Inside
  • 11. The Last Stand
  • 12. Coming Home
  • 13. Dear God

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play